Archivaria Awards



W. Kaye Lamb Prize (established 1983)

Named for Dr. William Kaye Lamb, Dominion Archivist of Canada (1948–1969) and founding National Librarian of Canada (1953–1967), the prize is awarded annually to honour the author of the *Archivaria* article that, by its exceptional combination of research, reflection, and writing, most advances archival thinking in Canada. It is the senior award of the journal for the best article overall.

The winner of the Lamb Prize is selected by the General Editor, with the assistance of the other members of the *Archivaria* Editorial Board. Each member of the Board, including the General Editor, ranks his or her top three articles from first to third; points are then assigned (5 points for a first-ranked vote, 3 for a second, and 1 for a third), and the winner is declared, with the General Editor breaking any ties. No article by a participant in the selection process for the prize is eligible to win, unless he or she formally withdraws from the process.

2007 W. Kaye Lamb Prize

The General Editor and Editorial Board of *Archivaria* are pleased to announce that the winner of the W. Kaye Lamb Prize for 2007 is David Bearman, for his article "Moments of Risk: Identifying Threats to Electronic Records," in *Archivaria* 62 (Fall 2006).

In his thoughtful and well-articulated analysis of the tremendous amounts of funding and effort that have been devoted to the identification of the key issues in electronic records over the past two decades, Bearman presents readers with "points of convergence" at which disparate electronic records research projects have made similar discoveries that have advanced our knowledge and understanding.

Hugh A. Taylor Prize (established 2006)

The Hugh A. Taylor Prize was established in 2006 to honour the doyen of Canadian archival thinkers whose wide range of scholarly publications sparked the Canadian archival imagination. The prize is awarded annually to the author of the *Archivaria* article that presents new ideas or refreshing syntheses in the most imaginative way, especially by exploring the implications of concepts or trends from other disciplines for archival thinking and activity, and by extending the boundaries of archival theory in new directions.

The winner of the Taylor Prize is chosen by the General Editor and a professor of archival studies (selected by the General Editor), who will decide the winner by consensus. For the first five years, the latter role will be filled by Dr. Terry Cook of the University of Manitoba, a former General Editor of *Archivaria*, long-time member of its Editorial Board, and founding contributor of this prize. As with the Lamb Prize, no article by a participant in the selection process is eligible to win, unless he or she formally withdraws from the process.

Hugh A. Taylor Prize (2007)

We are pleased to announce that the inaugural Hugh A. Taylor Prize for *Archivaria* is presented to Ms. Keli Rylance, for her article "Archives and the Intangible," in *Archivaria* 62 (Fall 2006).

In her innovative and thought-provoking exploration of the long-standing affinity of archives for tangible objects (records, photographs, or artifacts) rather than other examples of "intangible cultural heritage," and the results that this affinity has on our profession's definitions of the nature of archival records and the institutions that hold them, Ms. Rylance invites us to reconsider our role in preserving "culturally meaningful expressions regardless of physicality." By reconceptualizing what is archives as records and thus the focus of archiving for our institution and profession, her work reflects many of the themes found within Hugh Taylor's efforts to inspire a new orality and sense of archival storytelling, where the visual and oral are better balanced with the textual dominance of the past.

The winners of the 2008 W. Kaye Lamb and Hugh A. Taylor Prizes will be chosen from articles in *Archivaria* 64 (Fall 2007) and 65 (Spring 2008), and announced at the 2008 ACA Conference in Fredericton, New Brunswick, 12–14 June 2008.